G300: ``Managerial Economics''

Schedule for ``Managerial Economics'' (G300, Section 4643)

(December 1, 1999)
Michael Baye, Managerial Economics and Business Strategy, Boston: Irwin McGraw-Hill, 1999 (3rd edition).

Eric Rasmusen, Games and Information, 3rd edition, selected chapters. I will hand these out.


Basics


Week 1:
31 August, Tuesday. 1. Fundamentals of Managerial Economics.. Reading: Baye, Chapter 1.

2 September, Thursday. 2. Market Forces: Demand and Supply. Reading: Baye, Chapter 2.

Week 2
7 September, Tuesday. 3. Quantitative Demand Analysis. Reading: Baye, Chapter 3.

9 September, Thursday. 4. Quantitative Demand Analysis. Reading: Baye, Chapter 3.

Week 3
14 September, Tuesday. 5. Discounting Problem set 1 is due.

16 September, Thursday. 6. The Production Process and Costs. Reading: Baye, Chapter 5. Quiz 1.
Week 4
21 September, Tuesday. 7. The Production Process and Costs. Reading: Baye, Chapter 5.

23 September, Thursday. 8. The Production Process and Costs. Reading: Baye, Chapter 5. Problem set 2 is due.

Week 5
28 September, Tuesday. 9. The Production Process and Costs. Reading: Baye, Chapter 5.
30 September, Thursday. Midterm Test I.

Week 6
5 October, Tuesday. 10. The Organization of the Firm . Reading: Baye, Chapter 6.

7 October, Thursday. 11. The Organization of the Firm . Reading: Baye, Chapter 6. Quiz 2.

Week 7
12 October, Tuesday. 12. The Organization of the Firm . Reading: Baye, Chapter 6.

14 October, Thursday. 13. Government in the Marketplace. Reading: Baye, Chapter 13. Problem set 3 is due.

Week 8
19 October, Tuesday. 14. Government in the Marketplace. Reading: Baye, Chapter 13.

21 October, Thursday. 15. Government in the Marketplace. Reading: Baye, Chapter 13.

Week 9
26 October, Tuesday. 16. Game Theory. Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 1. Quiz 3.

28 October, Thursday. 17. Game Theory. Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 1.

Week 10
2 November, Tuesday. 18. Extensive Forms. Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 2. Quiz 4. Problem set 4 is due.

4 November, Thursday. No class today.

Week 11
9 November, Tuesday. 19. Extensive Forms. Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 2.

11 November, Thursday. 20. Mixed Strategies. Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 3.

Week 12
16 November, Tuesday. 21. Mixed Strategies. Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 3.

18 November, Thursday. Midterm Test II.

Week 13
23 November, Tuesday. 23. Dynamic Strategies . Reading: U.S. Air Case Handout.

25 November, Thursday. Thanksgiving Holiday.

Week 14
30 November, Tuesday. 24. Pricing Topics . Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 13.

2 December, Thursday 25. Oligopoly . Kleit Oligopoly Handout.

Week 15
7 December, Tuesday. 26. Pricing Topics . Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 13. Problem Set 5 is due.

9 December, Thursday. 27. Pricing Topics . Reading: Rasmusen, Chapter 13. Quiz 5.

Final Examination: Tuesday, December 14, 8:00-10:00 a.m.








Return to the G300: Managerial Economics Home Page.


Send comments to Prof. Rasmusen . Address of this page: Www.bus.indiana.edu/g570/_webg300/g300sche.htm.