Cedars Math

From Rasmapedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
  • An online Python compiler that can import the matplotlib module is at codabrainy.com.


Chapter 1: Whole Numbers


1.1 Counting.
1.2 Addition.
1.3 Subtraction.


1.4 Multiplication and Division.


1.4 Long Division.


Lesson 6, Friday. Order of operations, exponents.

  • Test 1, (arithmetic, writing numbers in words).


Lesson 7, Wednesday. Exponents, neatness.


Lesson 8, Friday. Graphics.


Lesson 9, Monday. Word problems.

  • Homework 9 (word problems). Remember also to ask your parents what is necessary for salvation, and, in particular, why just deciding to believe is not enough. The key verse is "Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble." James 2:19.
  • Here is a good blog post on prayer flags and prayer wheels, with gorgeous photographs if the Himalaya Mountains. Someone came up with the idea of the "prayer wagon": drawings here and here. Relatedly, the parable of Lazarus and the Rich Man (Luke) came up in class.
  • WORDS: Amiable, endless loop.
  • "When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years." Mark Twain, "Old Times on the Mississippi," Atlantic Monthly, 1874.
  print("Buddhist  code.")
  x = 4
  item=1
  while x<6:
  print("Glory to God in the highest!",item)
  item = item +1
  print ("The End.") 
  • Steps in solving word problems: 1. Figure out what the question is and what kind of number is supposed to be the answer. 2. Figure out which numbers in the question are relevant--- some numbers might well be irrelevant to getting to the answer. 3. Figure out what techniques you are going to need, e.g., addition, division, Python coding, looking up something on the Internet.


Chapter Two: Fractions


Lesson 2.2, Monday, September 21. Mixed Numbers.


Lesson 2.3, Wednesday, September 23. Factors and Prime Numbers


Lesson 2.4, Friday, September 25. Putting a Fraction into Lowest Terms


Lesson 2.4b, Monday, September 27. Plotting Functions, Divisibilty by 2, 3, 5, 7, 10.


Lesson 2.5, Wednesday, September 29. Multiplying Fractions



October 1-15, 2021


Lesson 2.7, Friday, October 1. Dividing Fractions


Lesson 2.8a, Monday, October 4. More Multiplication


Lesson 2.8b, Wednesday, October 6. Emails, Prime Numbers

  • Gordon Klein video from Fox's Tucker Carlson Show.


Friday, October 8. No class. Trip to Indianapolis.


Monday, Wed., Friday, Fall Break.


October 18-31, 2021


Monday, October 18. 3.1: Adding fractions with the same denominator

  • The Python code by Professor Connell to test the Polya Conjecture.


Wednesday, October 20. Review.


Friday, October 22. Test 2. LaTeX and Anaconda Python.


Monday, October 25. Least Common Multiples.



Wed., October 27. Adding Fractions.



Friday, October 29. Adding Mixed Numbers.



Cedars Math: Miscellaneous